Closing Themes

I am an ocean of calm

I am a body made of salt water, drifting

Floating and caressing the waves,

Just like I did to your body on that cool summer night

I am cigarettes and scars and memories

I am broken glass on bare feet,

Warm sand on even warmer toes

Long showers and long nights

Cold tea and salty lips

I am a bird trying to fly away from her problems

A guitar with a broken string, longing to feel the sensation of a touch again

I am lipstick and toothpaste kisses and awkward embraces

I am lonely and quiet, yet happy and content

I am your sighs and your hands, small and all mine

I am your regrets and your deepest fears, all wrapped into one

I am nothing but a butterfly with broken wings

But I love to be this way; it’s awkward and tragic

Just like your kisses on that night.

-Jemma

This entry was published on June 27, 2013 at 3:53 pm. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

